Author Topic: Radiotherapy in Taiwan  (Read 2749 times)

Taiwan Jesse

Radiotherapy in Taiwan
« on: November 23, 2011, 03:15:49 am »
Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum, and wanted to express my thanks to the association, and describe my experience with AN.

I was diagnosed with a 3cm AN after experiencing clicking sounds in my right (affected ear) for about a month. Everyone I consulted suggested using Fractionated Stereotactic Surgery as it would be safer and the success rate was good. As I'm a teacher, I wanted to avoid damaging my face and especially wanted to preserve my hearing.

I took 29 treatments over a 6-week period and a month later started to experience many of the side effects I have read about on this forum: nausea, dizziness, double-vision and fatigue. This lasted about a month. Now, 6 months after the treatment has ended, I feel okay. However, sometimes I get dizzy when I exercise and my tinnitus has become a bit worse over the last several months.

The MRI which I took a month ago shows swelling and according to radiologists this is due to normal post-radiation edema. So, while I can't be certain that FSR has solved my AN problem yet, I do feel optimistic that things will get better. 

Thanks! Appreciate any comments or advice.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2011, 07:05:41 am by Taiwan Jesse »

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: Radiotherapy in Taiwan
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 05:20:23 am »
Hi Jesse and welcome.