Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 2746 times)

cajungrl37

Newbie here
« on: May 24, 2006, 09:25:14 pm »
  Hi everyone, I just want to introduce myself to your group.  I am 37 years old and was diagnosed with a 4 cm AN in May 2005 and had a hypoglossal anastomosis in August 2005.  I have lost all hearing on my left side.  My symptoms started with a stopped up ear.  Then, the off-balance and dizziness.  It wasn't until I was getting such pounding headaches that I sought treatment.  Needless to say, "brain tumor" was the last thing I expected to hear.  I am back at work, which I was out for about 5 months total.  Since then, everything has been such an emotional rollercoaster.  I was told about the AN forum through a friend I have been talking with through email.  She has been a great help.  It's nice knowning there is a group out there that one can turn to.

Well, I just wanted to drop a few lines. Thanks for being here.
4 cm - left
Removed May 9, 2005
hypoglossal facial anastomosis - Aug. 2005
Ochsner Hospital - New Orleans

Battyp

Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2006, 03:12:09 am »
WOW!  4CM and back to work...you're my hero!!  What is it you do? 
Sounds like you're doing ok? 
Welcome to the club 8)

Patti

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2006, 07:41:10 am »
i was diagnosed with a 4 cm tumor at the age of 38.  i didn't make it back to work (teaching).  i am now 43 and wake up some days (like today) mourning the loss of my career.  what kind of work do you do?  congratulations on your comeback!!!  patti
4 cm AN removed 12/2000
subsequent brain swelling
removal of part of cerebellum
face, scalp,tongue numbness and partial paralysis
no corneal sensation and no tears-frequent eye issues
cognitive issues
Regrowth (3.1 x ..86 cm) treated by SRS on November 6, 2015

nickel

• If God brings you to it~He'll bring you through it
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2006, 08:21:05 am »