Author Topic: Questions – about "modified LINAC" options and IMRT options  (Read 3453 times)

bob_michigan

I studied the following web page that was recommended to me ...
http://www.cksociety.org/PatientInfo/radiosurgery_stereotactic_technology_comparisons.asp

--- overall, it's an informative web page, as I learned a few things, so I am very thankful for people directing me to it

Below are questions that I have as a result of reviewing the web page.

Starting year(s) ... and how many variations... Modified LINAC Treatment Options --- Since there is only one Gamma Knife (trademark of Elektra) system and one (continuously improved over 30 years) Gamma Knife treatment procedure with very specific hardware and software, it is clearly one treatment protocol.  It is stated on the cksociety web page that the modified linac options started to be developed in 1980's so that's good to know --- 30 years after GK. 

(by the way, I do realize that this "one" does involve some degree of variation, such as sometimes the use of both MRI and CT-Scans being done by some treatment teams in order to mazimize accuracy  ... I do not know if all treatment teams do that or will do that in the future, but perhaps that's an example of the treatment procedure getting continuous improvement over time)

When was the first modified LINAC treatment option used to treat patients?

Currently how many "modified linac systems" (hardware and software) are there and when was each one started?