Author Topic: eye ointment  (Read 8002 times)

Karen

eye ointment
« on: June 09, 2009, 06:17:25 pm »
I have been using Refresh Pm for 5 years now every night, but I have been wondering about switching to the generic Paralube that WalMart has.  Has anyone tried it?  Refresh is so expensive to  use.  The paralube is half the price!  Karen
Karen
     Surgery 12-17-03, nerve graft 1-04, 3.5 cm, facial paralysis, numbness and no hearing in left ear

saralynn143

• Sarey Sarey Quite Contrary
    • MVD diary
Re: eye ointment
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 06:59:47 pm »
I suggest looking for a proportion of mineral oil to petrolatum in the 45% to 55% range. I have found that the less expensive and generic ointments have a proportion of 85% to 15% and wear off almost as fast as drops.

Refresh PM and Lacrilube are the two I have found to have the longest staying power. They are more expensive per tube, but I have to reapply the other ones so often that they end up being more expensive in the long run.

Sara
MVD for hemifacial spasm 6/2/08
left side facial paresis
 12/100 facial function - 7/29/08
 46 - 11/25/08
 53 - 05/12/09
left side SSD approx. 4 weeks
 low-frequency hearing loss; 85% speech recognition 7/28/08
1.8 gram thin profile platinum eyelid weight 8/12/08
Fitted for scleral lens 5/9/13

Kaybo

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 09:54:12 pm »
Karen~
I was wondering about that too but just as Sara mentioned, I was comparing the two and noticed the ingredients were not the same so I didn't try it...I guess I'll stick with the Refresh PM...it has worked for me for 13.5 years!  Actually, it has gone down or stayed the same in price the whole time I have been using it...KNOCK ON WOOD!! ;)

K
« Last Edit: June 27, 2009, 04:22:39 pm by Kaybo »
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97
Gold Weight x 5
SSD
Facial Paralysis-R(no movement or feelings in face,mouth,eye)
T3-3/08