Author Topic: questions on facial weakness and slurred speech  (Read 4575 times)

Debbi

• Originator of the Magic Scarf
    • Debbi's AN Blog
Re: questions on facial weakness and slurred speech
« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2008, 04:02:06 pm »
Hi Marci-
Just saw your post and wanted to respond.  YES, your face will be "droopier" when you are tired, and your speech may also slur.  Mine still does.  You may find that Ps and Bs are particularly tricky - these are very hard sounds to make if you can't purse your lips.

I did see a speech therapist (I make my living talking, so slurring for life wasn't an option!) and they gave me some specific exercises to address this.  They also recommended tongue twisters to help me with the slurriness - I still do Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Peppers and Betty's Bitter Batter almost daily.  And, as I have gradually gotten some movement back in my face, the slurriness has gotten better - still a problem when I am tired, though.

For the general numbness on your face - my surgeon recommended warm compresses and that does seem to help.  Interestingly, the facial therapist I saw also suggested taking a very cold metal spoon and running it around inside my cheek and gums - she said it helps to stimulate the nerves in the face.

I'd be happy to send you the print out of the exercises I am using, if you'd like.  Just PM me with your address if interested.

And, be patient!  I just posted some pictures on my blog from this weekend if you want to see how my face looks 3.5 months post op. 

Debbi, feeling your pain!
Debbi - diagnosed March 4, 2008 
2.4 cm Right Side AN
Translab April 30, 2008 at NYU with Drs. Golfinos and Roland
SSD Right ear, Mild synkinesis and facial nerve damage
BAHA "installed" Feb 2011 by Dr. Cosetti @ NYU

http://debsanadventure.blogspot.com

JulieE

« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2008, 04:08:37 pm »
Funny - I thought Marci was telling us to eat bon-bons all weekend until I read Jim's subsequent reply!