Author Topic: Balance Questions  (Read 4160 times)

mandy721

Balance Questions
« on: August 01, 2009, 09:54:09 am »
Is there any correlation between how much balance there is in AN ear and post-surgery balance issues?  My husband balance test on Thursday indicated that he had still has about about  50% of his balance in the AN ear.  He thought it would be much less and thinks he has very bad balance based on his attempts to do certain yoga postures!  From my perspective his current balance isn't so bad.  Now I am worried about balance issues after surgery on Aug.4.
Husband diagnosed 5/30/09 with 3.2cm right AN
Surgery at  Columbia Presbyterian 8/4/09
Platinum eye weight implant - 8/17/09
17 days in hospital and rehab
SSD, facial weakness, some tinnitus, headaches , balance and eye problems

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Balance Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2009, 02:21:29 pm »
Mandy ....

I am not a doctor, but from my research on acoustic neuromas (vestibular schwannomas) and the results on one's balance, when removing an AN the vestibular nerve is removed on that side as well.  Normally the opposite side with the good vestibular nerve takes over the entire function and the brain retrains itself to interpret the one-sided good signal.  However, if your husband's AN side vestibular nerve is operating at 50%, it means he is getting erratic signals from that side, which confuses the brain.  Many AN patients have found that their balance is greatly improved after surgery (and after the retraining of the brain) because they have one good signal instead of one and a poor half.

Others will clarify here, I am sure.

Thoughts and prayers for a successful surgery.

Clarice
Right MVD for trigeminal neuralgia, 1994, Pittsburgh, PA
Left retrosigmoid 2.6 cm AN removal, February, 2008, Duke U
Tumor regrew to 1.3 cm in February, 2011
Translab AN removal, May, 2011 at HEI, Friedman & Schwartz
Oticon Ponto Pro abutment implant at same time; processor added August, 2011