Author Topic: Hello from a Newb.  (Read 3911 times)

cherrypiper

• Hope is what this is all about
Re: Hello from a Newb.
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2009, 09:31:32 pm »
Cheryl : i'm a Junior college teacher. and i have ssd on rt side. here's a trick or two i learned.

1. i told my kids, 19 to 30 year olds mostly i am deaf on rt side BUT on my time off i learned to read lips REAL good from commercials, and TV and wife.

i can now see what they are saying almost as well as i can hear them. i have also found my way of zeroing in on a conversation way in the back of the room, where i don't think i had that capability with 2 ears.

takes some practice. restaurants are good for that. now one down side for me hearing wize is large noisy places, like BIG malls right now, or airplane terminals actually over floods my one side hearing.

The body does amazing things with what it has left to us .  LOL  :)
10 mm x 2.4mm surgery date 12/03/07

glad to be here

opp2

« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2009, 07:42:23 am »
Hi Jayson, just yesterday I was placed on restricted duty, voluntarily, due to my difficulties walking on some occasions. I am truly blessed to have worked as a police officer for 15 years and I cried every time I had to come off the road when I was pregnant and I cried yesterday too.

This time though there is no end in sight. No saying I'm going to be back in 18 or 15 months. For me it is a matter of safety for my team, safety for me, safety for the public.

I struggle every day wondering what I will do if I can't go back to the road. I feel your loss.

I wish you PEACE.

Nikki
Diagn Apr 14 2009 with 2.5 cm lt AN. - numbness in the face and sudden onset headaches accompanied by balance issues. Consults with Drs in S Ontario, California (House) and Vancouver. Picked Dr. Akagami in BC.
Retrosigmoid July 6, 2010, 3.0cm by then. SSD left, no other significant side effects.

Jayson

« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2009, 11:11:22 am »
Nikki,