Author Topic: I found a way to talk on the phone with my non working ear???  (Read 2900 times)

Phillies

I found a way to talk on the phone with my non working ear???
« on: November 02, 2011, 12:49:48 pm »
I'm a little perplexed. I haven't had any hearing for 3 1/2 months in my right ear since my surgery but the hearing nerve was left intact. Yesterday, I discovered if I put an ear plug or my finger in my good ear and put the phone up to my non working AN ear I can hear the phone. And if I push the phone hard against my AN ear I can carry on a phone conversation but as soon as I take out the ear plug or finger I loose all the hearing. Please tell me this is normal. Or did I discover something new? Or maybe it has to do with a nerve that is still working??
« Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 01:27:21 pm by Phillies »

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: I found a way to talk on the phone with my non working ear???
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 01:44:17 pm »
I am not a doctor, but my guess is there might be some some bone-conduction hearing happening when you press the phone hard against your skull ..... which means the sounds from the phone may be transferring to your good hearing nerve through your skull bone.

If you cannot hear anything from that ear without pushing it hard up against the bone, that nerve may still not be functioning well.  If, on the other hand, you can hear faintly when plugging your good ear, you might want to check with a good audiologist about a hearing aid for that ear.  Only an audiogram will really give you the true answer, I think.