Author Topic: Now watching and waiting for something different...  (Read 3942 times)

crivers

Now watching and waiting for something different...
« on: April 12, 2010, 04:13:38 pm »
First of all, thanks to all of you for your opinions, advice and kind words of support in the past. It's funny, because I am still a newbie here, but I am no longer in the official watch and wait club.

A brief update here, then I'll move my post over the the correct location on the board.

I intended to go to the US (Stanford) for an initial consultation with Dr. Chang to gain comfort with him and his team to eventually treat me when the time came. I was completely sure I did not want surgery, so I was seeking opinion on Cyberknife vs. others. This meeting occurred the last week of March 10.

While I was fully expecting to hear about how small the AN is, how it is not an emergency situation, etc. and to continue to watch and wait; that did not happen. During the two hour consultation, the discussion between myself, my family and the doctors led me to the decision to schedule the treatment the week of 5th April. Because this decision is very personal and very different for everyone, I'm not sure that anyone would understand why this decision made the most sense for me, right now. I feel great about the decision and that is what is the most important for me and my family.

So there you have it - I have now been zapped and my outlook couldn't be better.
I will post more details on the actual treatment and my initial thoughts, conditions soon on the correct thread.
Rt side AN - discovered
Jul 09: 6mmx4mmx4mm
Feb 10: 8mmx5mmx5mm

CyberKnife - Stanford - Dr. Chang and Soltys
April 5 - 9th, 2010

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Now watching and waiting for something different...
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 08:53:07 pm »