Author Topic: I can't control the tumor but I can control what I pack for the hospital....  (Read 6055 times)

MAlegant

• 50th birthday party pic
This question may seem strange but I have very little experience with hospitalization (last time was when my son was born 20 years ago), so I was wondering what I should pack.  I went to Target today and bought cute pjs, slippers and a robe, all color coordinated of course.  Now I know I may be too ill to care about anything post-surgery but right now it's the little things that I can control that I'm focusing on.  Any advice????
Marci
3cmx4cm trigeminal neuroma, involved all the facial nerves, dx July 8, 2008, tx July 22, 2008, home on July 24, 2008. Amazing care at University Hospitals in Cleveland.

vicki1967

If I would have thought about THAT part ahead of time  ;), I would have packed a favorite blanket, or something of the sort. You don't have that home-like feeling in a hospital, of course, so anything to remind you of home would be good. How about a few small pictures in frames? When you constantly see different faces (in a hospital environment) you really don't get the opportunity to make any new friends. Everytime I opened my eyes for the nurse/doctor/assistant observation of me, I didn't recognize a single person. They change shifts so frequently. So - any little gadget to remind you of home is what I would recommend!!

vicki1967

OH, I thought of another thing - lots of gossip magazines!! You probably won't feel like reading much, but the pics in those mags can be quite entertaining!! heheheee!

LADavid

Hi Marci