Author Topic: I'm new, I'm scared, but I'm here  (Read 5671 times)

MAlegant

• 50th birthday party pic
I'm new, I'm scared, but I'm here
« on: July 12, 2008, 10:09:19 am »
Hi all,
I have been recently diagnosed with a 3cm AN on the cerebellum pontine angle.  Have had intermittent facial pain/numbness for quite some time but had really ignored it.  I've had no discernible hearing loss.  I am 48, in good health, a runner and a wife and mom.  I am also a musician (a singer) and work as an academic dean at a conservatory.  This would have continued to be undiagnosed if not for my excellent primary care physician who suggested an MRI after I explained my symptoms.  Right now we are seeking the right surgeon, one who will try mightily to spare my facial nerve and my hearing, though I know there are no guarantees.  I live near Cleveland, so the Cleveland Clinic is my best bet and that is where I assume I'll have my surgery.  In the end, coming through this in almost any condition is better than the alternative but I fear my life is about to change in a dramatic way.  It's amazing how close we all are to the edge, we just don't know it until something like this happens to us or to a loved one.  I appreciate being able to post on this forum and reading the posts has alternately terrified and emboldened me.  I'll keep you all posted. 
Marci
3cmx4cm trigeminal neuroma, involved all the facial nerves, dx July 8, 2008, tx July 22, 2008, home on July 24, 2008. Amazing care at University Hospitals in Cleveland.

sgerrard

Re: I'm new, I'm scared, but I'm here
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2008, 11:01:17 am »
Hi Marci,

Glad you figured out how to start your own thread. Forum navigation is an important skill. :)