Author Topic: My situation  (Read 5805 times)

Brian T

My situation
« on: March 27, 2013, 01:43:46 pm »
Hey everyone, new member.  I just found out a couple weeks ago from a MRI that I have a "2 cm" AN in my right ear.  I've been doing my research while I'm waiting for Tricare to get back to me with my referall.  I'm sure everyone has their reasoning's of going one way or another but so far I'm leaning towards CK.  I guess a little background might help describe my decision so far.  I'm 30 years old, I'm currently in the Air National Guard as a flyer (a person who flies for a living) and I'm an airline pilot.  Both of which are a passion and can promise anyone that if they were taken from me would have a devastating affect on my quality of life.  Is there anyone else out that was in a similar situation (age & occupation)?  I'm trying to get as many facts as possible before I meet with any military docs who tend to a be a bit pushy it seems towards microsurgery.

Brian Thibodeaux

Shelley A

Re: My situation
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 07:08:32 pm »
Hey Brian,
I am 32 and my AN is about 2.5cm.  I am having surgery on April 5th.  We decided to go with surgery because it is growing and I am young and healthy.  We chose not to do radiation because of the uncertain long term effects of it.  I however, am not a pilot.  I am a stay at home mom.  The best advice I can give you is to research as much as possible and talk to multiple doctors.  Don't rush into anything.  I will be praying for you!

Shelley

Brian T

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 10:09:11 am »
Thanks for the reply Shelley.