Author Topic: has anyone found research if a person is predisposed to cancers if radiation  (Read 3245 times)

doinoc

I was wondering if anyone has come across studies or info on  if a predisposition to cancers in the family if radiation treatments can affect them in anyway to bring on the cancer.  I don't know if this is a stupid question but its been on my mind.  My mom's side of the family has so much history of breast, lymphoma,malinoma and stomach cancer just going back to my Nana's generation.  So I didn't know if this is a thing i should think about if i decide  GK instead of surgery. My dr says its time to do  something.  i myself have had 2 benign lymphs removed to date because of the history.  Any help our there on this one??  thanks. 
I'm new to asking in this forum although I've read a lot of your discussions.  You are all so friendly sounding.  and the info you bring is awesome.  thanks...
Deb

sgerrard

Hi Deb,

Your question is one for the professionals, radiation oncologists in particular. That is exactly what they are trained to evaluate when working with a patient.

For online research, you could certainly ask this question on the Cyberknife forum (they talk about Gammaknife too). That forum has two practicing and experienced oncologists who freely answer questions from patients. I would much rather you get an answer from Dr. Medbery or one of his colleagues. I imagine the answer depends somewhat on the particular history of cancer in the family, whether any have had brain cancer, and so on. Gammaknife delivers a very isolated dose of radiation, so it may not be a significant risk, but you need to discuss this with an oncologist.

Here is the CK patient forum: http://www.cyberknife.com/Forum.aspx. Dr. Medbery logs on as radsrus (Rads-R-Us).

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.
Hearing lasted a while, but left side is deaf now.
Right side is weak too. Life is quiet.

doinoc