Author Topic: Strange reaction to loud noise  (Read 5224 times)

suz

Strange reaction to loud noise
« on: March 29, 2009, 09:26:41 pm »
Hello, I am new to this discussion forum. I have been a W&W patient for two years now with a 1.5 cm AN that has thankfully not changed one bit since diagnosis. I have avoided reaching out for support from other AN-er's because I really haven't wanted to face some of the scary possibilities of this tumor. I read the newsletter I get every month and mostly it depresses me. Since my symptoms come and go, I am able to put it on the margins of my life which I am grateful for. But recently I had an abrupt change and this led me to look at the website again for info. When I found this discussion forum and read some of the posts I felt so relleived to hear fellow AN-er's similar worries and hopes. I know you probably know how healing it is to connect this way. I am sorry I haven't done this sooner!  Anyway, here is the strange thing that happenned: I was on the train coming home from work and the conductor was announcing the stops. It seemed to me that the announcements were overwhelmingly loud; her voice literally hurt my ears. Oddly, I looked around at the other passengers and no one seemed  bothered by the noise. But me, I was holding my ears as we approached each stop. By the time I got home, both ears were ringing so loudly I could barely hear anything. That subsided a bit, but my AN side was almost completely deaf for about a week with a profound increase in tinnitus. (Prior to that my hearing loss was mild and I am pretty much used to a certain level of tinnitus.) Luckily, it seems to have recovered, and I am almost back to the way I was before that awful train ride. Has anyone experienced this before? 
Tumor 1.8cms x 1.5 cms x .5 cm;partially removed 7/14/10 by Drs. Friedman & Schwartz of House Ear Clinic in LA. Moderate SS hearing loss.
Re-growth approximate 3 mm per year; GK planned for 12/2017.
Philadelphia, PA area

EJTampa