Author Topic: RE FOLLOW UP SCAN  (Read 2984 times)

jazzfunkanne

RE FOLLOW UP SCAN
« on: October 08, 2008, 06:16:04 am »
Hi all, i wrote a thread two weeks ago re my mri results , i now have the consultants letter in front of me, he worte there certainly isnt anything to suggest she has any growth, the main abnormality is post-operative dural enhancement (does any one know what that means)? many thanks
ps he wants to keep a close eye on me to ensure that there have not been any change in the post operative apperance. Scan due in Aug 09
Also must add the radiologist thought she seen scar tissue and fat on the scan , but i didnt get fat to close the wound, so he thinks it is muscle they are seeing.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2008, 06:32:43 am by jazzfunkanne »
over 4.5cm AN removed dec 06

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: RE FOLLOW UP SCAN
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2008, 07:16:09 am »
Anne -

I'm not a medical person, I'm an accountant, but as I recall from my own first post op MRI (11 months after my surgery), the noted abnormality of "post-operative dural enhancement" pretty much means that what is evident on your MRI are the "remainders" from your surgery - basically the scar tissue.  I think this terminology is also pointing out that you had surgery, which is something radiologists do to alert other docs that might viewing your MRI that what they are seeing is a normal result of your surgery.

I had a fat graft for my surgery, but the place I had my MRI done uses machines that suppress fat so none of it showed on my post op MRI.  All my "hardware" - titanium mesh, screws, titanium plate, and my BAHA abutment (yes, even more titanium) didn't show up on my MRI either.  Truth be told, I was a little disappointed by that - I thought it would have been cool to see what's inside my head besides my brain  :D

If anyone else reading this IS a medical person, and I've gotten this response partially or completely wrong, please correct me.

Thanks,

Jan