Author Topic: Job termination  (Read 7491 times)

Dee-dee

Job termination
« on: September 11, 2011, 02:35:35 pm »
Has anyone been laid off for "job elimination" after disclosing to an employer (all bosses) that they have an acoustic neuroma?

Update:  I was reinstated and am on disability.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 05:58:26 pm by Dee-dee »
2.3 cm AN.   Hearing loss and other symptoms. Gamma knife 2011.

TJ

• 1.2 cm AN right side, CK November 2010
Re: Job termination
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 05:50:32 pm »
Dee Dee

I am not a lawyer, but I believe that is very much against the law.  Take a look at the American with Disability Act.  It protects workers from this happening.

TJ

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2011, 09:36:33 pm »
I'm with TJ.  If the reason you were laid off was your AN, it's definitely job discrimination.

I'm not one who goes looking for lawsuits, but in this case if it were me, I'd at least consult with a lawyer.

First consults are typically free.

Good luck, and please keep us updated.

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

Kaybo

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2011, 04:59:57 am »
Did they cite (?) any documentation when they dismissed you? We used to own a business and my husband kept very detailed records & would not someone go until he had a certain number of documented infringements, usually that he had called them in for...

;D
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97
Gold Weight x 5
SSD
Facial Paralysis-R(no movement or feelings in face,mouth,eye)
T3-3/08
Great life!

Dee-dee

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2011, 05:49:34 pm »