Author Topic: Am I wasting my time?  (Read 6930 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

Am I wasting my time?
« on: September 20, 2008, 09:51:31 am »
Okay from the person who does the facial exercises religiously...that would be me. I don't know...
#1...I don't agree with the experts that the bells phenomonon can be fixed with exercise. That is a defense mechanism that we are born with to protect the cornea. That is like trying to fix the "startle reflex" (I was a neonatal nurse for 13 years) in a newborn. That is when they are startled their arms fly up in the air and the arms shake. You can't make it stop or go away. It is INNATE....BORN that way. So I truly believe that exercise to get rid of the bell's deal a bunch of crock... to put it nicely.  Sorry to all the therapist out there......I'm sure that I'm probably wrong.
#2...I had botox in my chin and neck 5 weeks ago for the synkinesis. Okay so the dimple in my chin is gone but now I can't make the nice movements that I did before with my chin and it now bunches up over to the good side. Not a good tradeoff. The shot in my neck has helped but the exercise that I was given to strengthen my smile was to slowly try to move the corner of my mouth while moving nothing else. How is this going to strengthen my cheek muscle. This would take IONS to strengthen anything. None of these exercises mimic the ones that I read about that everyone else does. I know everyone is unique and needs are different but come on. I was also told by my eye surgeon and my therapist....give it two months and you'll be blinking.....Still wearing the external weight. Again I know that people can't predict things like that and I REALLY wish they wouldn't say that because now I'm disappointed 5 months later. I have also been setting myself up for disappointment as I tell myself I WILL NOT ORDER ANYMORE ADHESIVES for my external lid weight. Well......Order for more went in on Friday. UGH!