Author Topic: Headaches can start with your FORK  (Read 6558 times)

Idaho

• Help YOU and your NPO's OUT Financially
Headaches can start with your FORK
« on: May 05, 2008, 03:01:32 am »
I was not going to post, but it looks like so many people have so many questions, comments and opinions, I thought I'd throw this information into the frey at the top! Anyway...here goes...I have an AN that I have been avoiding surgery on for 2 yrs ... so far.  ???

But, I have had migraines since elementary school.  I have been on pain pills, now on Topamax, an Item I have seen very Discussed (no wonder I can't GAIN weight....don't growl!)  and my eyes quit watering Years ago.  The list of drugs I have been through are leagues! And I hated ALL of them.  Especially, as those of you who have found Topamax have noticed, you have to Ramp up very slowly or you are very ill.  Well, when changing, you have to ramp down, and up at the same time!  fun...fun   ::)

I found, some years ago, a headache clinic, in Houston.  I flew down to the Wing of the hospital that was reserved for migraine patients.  Wired to IV for meds; taken off of all other meds.  THEN...put one on a STRICT FOOD diet.  Yes, there was the bio-feedback and meditation consultation just like I had done at the Pain Clinic in Indiana some years before.  They DID keep me on meds because PREVENTION is part of the cure.  And Topamax is a Prevention Medication, not a Pain medication; quite a difference!  If you want pain medication, ask for Imitrex and Migrinal....can NOT take them ON the same day.  But, for the FOOD:

To Highlight things to Avoid:

• NO Caffine - not even in chocolate (I was an addict!) They said 1c a day is ok; I can't TOUCH any!  How much do u like pain?
  • No MSG;   Learn to read labels; it is even in some potato chips!  If I go to a restaurant and get ill, I do not go back!