Author Topic: Having Surgery in Two Weeks  (Read 4186 times)

Mauri

Having Surgery in Two Weeks
« on: September 03, 2007, 05:42:51 pm »
I am a 54 year old pastor who is facing surgery in two weeks on my AN affecting my right ear. At this point it is a little over 1cm in size. I had been in a watch and wait mode, but since I found a little more hearing loss recently, I decided to go ahead and get it removed instead of waiting anymore. I would welcome any thoughts about what to expect concerning the surgery itself, and the recovery time. Because of my work, I am worried that there might be more hearing loss in that ear. My doctor is Dr. Peter Smith, and the operation will be performed at St. John's Mercy Hospital in St. Louis.

Desilu

Re: Having Surgery in Two Weeks
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 05:58:57 pm »
Hi Mauri,

Did your doctor explain what approach that he was going to use for your surgery? That will determine if he can save any of your hearing or not. Has your doctor done a lot of AN surgeries? When it comes to AN's numbers do count. I hope he has done lots of them. I had middle fossa approach and the doctors were able to save 90% of my hearing. My recovery time (total) from surgery to going back to work full time was 8 weeks. You know your body better than anyone else. Everyone is different so the recovery time will be up to you. You don't want to over do it. Just take one day at a time.

I too was on the watch and wait mode until my tumor decided to grow. It is good that you have decided to do something since you realize that the tumor is now affecting your hearing. I wish you the best on your AN journey. If I can help in anyway, just send me a personal email.   Ann
HEI July 26, 2005
5mm X 8mm Left AN
Middle Fossa
Dr. Brackmann & Dr. Hitselberger

Mauri

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2007, 07:32:01 pm »
Hi Desilu,