Author Topic: middle fossa surgery  (Read 5113 times)

marg

middle fossa surgery
« on: May 07, 2007, 11:47:57 pm »
Hi.  I was diagnosed with a AN in Dec. of 2006.  After much research, and 2 opinions I decided on surgery.  My tumor is very small... 3 mm  (any smaller and they wouldn't have seen it on the MRI).  I have the typical symptoms (fullness in ear, sea shell sound and small loss of high pitch tones... very minor balance issure).  Amazing that a tumor so small can give symptoms that I have heard about in much bigger tumors.
     Anyway,  I am scheduled for a midddle fossa surgery on Monday (to say I am nervous  is a real understatement).  I decided not to 'wait and watch' because I already have these symptoms and .... need to do something while I still have medical insurance (I'm a teacher getting close to retirement).  My neurosurgeon has a team and does about 100 AN surgeries a year at Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) .  I just found this site a short time ago and was wondering if there are people who have kept the hearing they had before surgery (mine is still very good).  I am hoping for that of course.  I also wondered about dealing with balance issues if they take the balance nerve (which I was told would happen)..... I get motion sick playing a 3 D video game .... so I can only imagine waking up with vertigo... how long does it last?   Anyway, I would appreciate any support  you are willing to give..... I guess I just need to hear from other people who have been through surgery... Thanks so much for your help.   Marg
« Last Edit: May 08, 2007, 12:34:31 am by marg »
Marg 
 4 mm  AN removed .. middle fossa   5/07 OHSU  Dr. Delashaw
AN scraped off facial nerve & balance nerve removed
 MRI  follow up showed AN gone ... thank you God
Some facial paralysis- . SSD weeks after surgery.  Trans-Ear Nov.2007 ... it really helps !

tuckerro

Re: middle fossa surgery
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2007, 10:33:21 am »
Marg,