Author Topic: Is it too soon to inquire about TransEar-type devices?  (Read 3552 times)

Ted A

Is it too soon to inquire about TransEar-type devices?
« on: May 06, 2007, 10:29:23 am »
Hi there...

I am an AN newbie to the Discussion, and just recently posted in the “Pre-Treatment� Section (some details there). I have a couple of questions about hearing aids.

I am currently in wait-and-see mode with my 14mm AN. However, I am interested in hearing aid devices, specifically the type that redirects sound to the good ear. My impression is that proceeding along this path requires some resolution on the tumor itself (i.e. remove it or stabilize it).

• Is it premature to investigate hearing aids while still in wait-and-see mode?
• In your experience, must one wait until the hearing is completely absent before something like TransEar is possible?
• Do most doctors recommend waiting for resolution on the AN before hearing aids are an option?
• Any recommendations for TransEar doctors/centers in the Houston area?

Thanks and regards,
-Ted
« Last Edit: May 06, 2007, 03:17:20 pm by Ted A »

Dantheman

• Orthodox Christian Bookstore
Re: Is it too soon to inquire about TransEar-type devices?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2007, 01:57:32 pm »
Ted,

I think I can help you with some of your questions and perhaps others can help you with the rest.

It's never too soon to inquire, investigate or gain knowledge. When you have an AN, the odds of you needing a hearing device of some kind are great.

I did all of the research and decided on the TransEar prior to my translab surgery.

I do believe that the TransEar is for single sided deafness only. No sound fropm one ear.
My TransEar has made a big diference for me.

Dan
Diagnosed 12/08/2006. 1.7 cm Right Side AN.
Trans-lab performed on 02/13/2007 by Dr. Lawrence Meiteles and Dr. Raj Murali at Westchester Medical Center, Valhalla, N.Y.
TransEar worn since 4/17/07.

Boppie

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2007, 02:52:38 pm »