Author Topic: Anyone retain quality hearing after radio surgery?  (Read 2157 times)

drumfest

Anyone retain quality hearing after radio surgery?
« on: January 11, 2023, 07:40:03 pm »
Has anyone been able to retain quality hearing long term after radio surgery?  If you have, would you mind sharing which type of radio surgery, where you had it and who did it?

I’m a professional musician and would like to try and retain my hearing long term.  I’m currently looking for an expert center and trying to pick the best doctor to do this. (if in fact the hearing preservation rate is of a good percentage) 

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
d
Diagnosed 4/2022 L sided AN 1.2cm.  stuffiness/clogged sensation w/slight hearing loss but good WRS.  Occupation: Professional musician.  No treatment yet

mwatto

Re: Anyone retain quality hearing after radio surgery?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2023, 03:49:44 am »
I am 4 years out and my hearing seems fine (3x Cyberknife) I am about to get my annual audiogram but its been stable up to now.
Michele
20 x19x14mm Cystic AN diagnosed Feb 2019. CK.
Mri 2019 shrinking: 18x17x13 mm.
Mri 2020 - no cysts visible stable.
MRI 2021 stable no change
MRI 2022 stable no change.
MRI 2023 Further reduction 12x12x10mm!! Hearing 85%
MRI 2024: No change AN or hearing

drumfest

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2023, 03:12:31 pm »
mwatto,  Thank you very much for the info!  I'm leaning more and more towards radiosurgery and I really want to get it spot on with an expert provider and team.  Obviously, nobody wants this messed up.  I really appreciate you taking the time to reply!!!

d
Diagnosed 4/2022 L sided AN 1.2cm.  stuffiness/clogged sensation w/slight hearing loss but good WRS.  Occupation: Professional musician.  No treatment yet

mendozaulises78

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2023, 07:02:19 pm »