Author Topic: 6 weeks more or less back to work??? Teacher 2nd Grade  (Read 2404 times)

Andrea Ortega

6 weeks more or less back to work??? Teacher 2nd Grade
« on: July 21, 2018, 08:20:28 pm »
My doctor said I should plan on being out for at least 6 weeks from work. I am a second grade teacher. I have a 3cm tumor surgically removing by getting hollowed-out not taking the whole thing. This happens two days after school starts. is it likely that I will be able to teach six weeks after or should I suggest a long-term sub that can carry on through Thanksgiving, Christmas, or even beyond?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2018, 08:22:22 pm by Andrea Ortega »

Patti

Re: 6 weeks more or less back to work??? Teacher 2nd Grade
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2018, 01:17:01 pm »
I was a seventh grade science teacher.  My tumor was bigger and became problematic.  I can not see a teacher being able to go back to work for 6 months. Your brain has to heal and you have to adjust to hearing and balance issues.  Mine was not a typical experience, so don't go by my story.  But definitely don't go back into the classroom until January.  Surgeons love to say 6 weeks because they think they can make you all better.  They can not relate to the things you will feel and the stimulation of a classroom and a a whole school.  Be kind to yourself!  Patti
4 cm AN removed 12/2000
subsequent brain swelling
removal of part of cerebellum
face, scalp,tongue numbness and partial paralysis
no corneal sensation and no tears-frequent eye issues
cognitive issues
Regrowth (3.1 x ..86 cm) treated by SRS on November 6, 2015

Andrea Ortega

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2018, 06:22:04 pm »
Thank you!

SueLL

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2018, 11:23:45 am »