Author Topic: Why the tumor seems bigger after the radiosurgery?  (Read 15466 times)

IZD30

Why the tumor seems bigger after the radiosurgery?
« on: July 03, 2016, 09:28:35 am »
Hello Everyone,

I have recently been diagnosed with AN; my tumor size appears to be around 2cm.  I am considering radiosurgery since I have tongue and facial numbness, and my local doctors told me that any surgery may cause permanent facial nerve damage.  This forum has been really informative, but I also noticed that in some members' signature blocks, the tumor size after GK or CK treatment appears to be bigger than the size before the treatment.  I am curious why is this the case?  Shouldn't the tumor shrink in size?

I am 30-year old female, so my priority is to preserve facial nerve.  I am looking at all options to lower my chances of permanent facial nerve damage after the surgery.  Any advice is very much appreciated since I am just learning about different treatment options and the long-term effect.  Thanks.

Blw

Re: Why the tumor seems bigger after the radiosurgery?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2016, 03:01:45 pm »
They swell after radiating as part of the degenerative process--a good thing. This can happen through two years. Most doctors will talk about stablizing them, where they never need to be treated. Better outcomes are when they undergo apparent necrosis (my doctors have said that is not necessarily the correct term) where the central part darkens, which many suggest is the tumor dying. I had very similar symptoms, which led my doctors to believe it involved the facial nerve. In that case, radiation is arguably the best treatment choice since you reduce the chances of damage to the facial nerve by surgery. Some surgeons can handle dealing with the facial nerve, but damaging that nerve is disastrous. Every consult I had said use radiation--Stanford, Pittsburgh, UVA, and a neurosurgeon who had done around 800 ANs.

PaulW

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2016, 03:44:24 pm »