Author Topic: New member seeking advice  (Read 4526 times)

sbass6508

• 22x22mm
New member seeking advice
« on: May 22, 2016, 07:55:52 pm »
Hello everyone! I am so thankful to have found this post. It seems relieving to see so many others who can relate to this issue. Tomorrow will be 13 days since I had surgery to remove an Vestibular Schwannoma (Acostic Neuroma). I was someone who had their tumor found by accident with no symptoms although the tumor was midsize at a little more Han 2 x 3 cm. I had been having a lot of digestive problems that I couldn't seem to get figured out despite gluten free diets and removal of gallbladder. None of these prob have anything to do with the Scwannoma and its discovery is coincidental. I was also discovered to have Lynch syndrome which can cause abnormal tumors and a lot of colon issues. I'm 36 years old and very healthy considering. I work in the field of law enforcement and I tend a small family farm where i live. Back in 97, my only other sibling passed from a cancerous gleoblastoma brain tumor so finding out I had any type of brain tumor was scary for the entire family. I was recommended by one Doctor the gamma knife surgery and two others recommended surgery to remove. I chose removal just because of my Lynch syndrome history although the gamma knife sounded much more appealing. I was told with my lynch syndrome that radiation to a benign tumor could actually cause cancer. Although rare. Iwent to sleep Tuesday morning for surgery with no symptoms and woke up with poor vision, a lot of head pain, dizziness, one eye that won't close and facial paralysis across majority of my right side. I also lost my hearing in my right ear after surgery despite having had perfect hearing prior to the operation. It's certainly been a scary feeling to go into surgery feeling fine and waking up with so many new issues. I remain positive as I know these  Things take time. I felt a little saddened to know that the doctors can't really give any i