General Category > Inquiries

With these symptoms, could I possibly *not* have an acoustic neuroma?

(1/8) > >>

Jill_S:
Newbie here.

I am a 51 y. o, diagnosed with unilateral high-frequency sudden sensorineural hearing loss about 2 1/2.weeks ago. The hearing in my right ear is almost perfect. Since I am a musician and a birder, they tested beyond 8,000 hz, all the way up to 12,000 hz. In my right ear, I heard tones at 12,000 hz at 10 DB. The hearing in my left ear is normal all the way up to just before 4,000 hz, but then drops off steeply into moderate-severe, severe, and profound loss. I had 100% speech recognition in both ears. My ENT, while not actually saying it, implied that I was "lucky," and that as far as sudden hearing loss goes, I was in pretty good shape.

At the consult, he mentioned that he would normally be required to order an MRI to rule out other posssible diagnoses (didn't mention AN by name, but I'm sure that's what he was thinking), but since my sudden hearing loss didn't fit the classic criteria (at least 30 DB loss across 3 consecutive standard frequencies - i.e. The results at 12,000 hz do not "count" for the official diagnosis, even if they showed a dramatic asymmetry in my case) he wasn't going to order it.

At the same time, he also only spent about 30 seconds questioning me about relevant health history. I mentioned that for quite some time now I had been having problems understanding conversations in loud spaces. He didn't comment on that one way or the other. He asked me no questions about balance or whether or not I felt like the hearing problems I've subjectively had for a while we're one-sided.

He gave me the standard tapering course of Prednisone and suggested that I would likely see at least some recovery. But, no, I have not seen any. Or, I see a little, then notice it slides back down again.