Author Topic: MRI today  (Read 4427 times)

Janey

MRI today
« on: May 04, 2015, 07:01:28 pm »
I had my six month MRI today with physician follow-up immediately after.  My AN has grown
about 3mm.  My doctor suggests a four month follow-up MRI.  He advises that if any growth occurs
by that time, I should consider treatment.  I was hoping to remain watch and wait indefinitely!
Although I really like my doctor, I'm having questions about treatment in WV due to low volume
of AN's.  Last October my AN was 4mm x 7mm.  Now it is about 10 or 11 mm.  Also, hearing went from 100% voice recognition to 20%, which I pretty well already knew.  Feeling sort of down about it, and wanted to post, as I'm always encouraged by the support of our group.  Any personal experience
advice welcome!

ANGuy

Re: MRI today
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 08:48:02 pm »
I can't give much in terms of advice since I'm a novice at all of this too.  I had my 6m MRI and it showed no growth and my Dr told me to get one in a year.  Then I went back for some other tests like an ABR and he had me move my 1 year MRI to 6m.  I got that same feeling you have, but not as serious.  It was disappointing that he decided 1 year was too long to wait, but not as disappointed as I will be when I get the same news as you.  At some point, I figure I will get advised to get treatment, and when I do, all of this will become more real to me.

I will say that your decision to seek more experienced Drs for treatment is a good one.  I would start shopping around.  Pittsburgh is pretty close to you and has some experienced providers there.  Even NYC is only about 6 hours away by car if my memory serves me well.
Diagnosed June 2014 1cm AN at 47 years of age.  Had fluctuating symptoms since 2006.    6 mos MRI (Dec 2014) showed no growth, MRI  in July 2015 showed no growth.  MRI Jan 2016 showed no growth.  MRI Aug 2016 showed no growth.  I'm gonna ride the WW train as long as I can.

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat