Author Topic: New member - would appeciate input from others  (Read 4654 times)

BarbB

New member - would appeciate input from others
« on: December 14, 2014, 09:08:00 pm »
Hello, all.  I am new to the discussion group.  I could use some input from people with experience, since I need to make some decisions in the next few weeks.

I have a small (1 x .9 x .7 cm) AN.  I am scheduled for surgery on Jan. 16th. I had my last planning appointment with the doctor last week. The hearing test now shows only about 30% speech recognition, a significant deterioration in just the past 2 months.  So far, I have no facial nerve involvement (knock on wood).  After this hearing test, we had another discussion about which approach is better, trans-labyrinthine (resulting in total hearing loss), or sub-occipital (with a 50% chance of keeping what hearing I have, but with no improvement).  The doctor is now recommending the trans-labyrinthine approach, but he is leaving the final decision up to me.

I have had occasional migraines for many years.  I get them once or twice a month, but I can just take a pill and they usually go away.  I understand that there is a risk of chronic migraines after sub-occipital surgery, but not after trans-lab.  Also, with the trans-lab. approach, the surgeon can see the facial nerve throughout the surgery, so less risk there.     

I have pretty much decided to go ahead with the trans-lab approach, but I just hate the idea of voluntarily giving up what is left of my hearing in that ear.  On the other hand, I might actually be better off without that ear.  The sound distortion in that ear (and it seems like it is even amplified)  interferes with my overall hearing to the point where if there is background noise, I actually hear better with that ear plugged.  Also, they are saying that it is simple to later do an implant that would transfer the sound from the deaf side to my good ear.