Author Topic: dealing with spouse who has AN  (Read 2942 times)

becknell

dealing with spouse who has AN
« on: June 10, 2005, 08:33:43 am »
I have made a few posts here, but I need to get advice on my overall problem. It's in helping my spouse, who has a 3 cm AN. I've done all the research, made the appointments and questioned the doctors. I've done quite a bit of research in the 8 days since we learned of his condition. The problem is his reaction to all  this is sort of denial or avoidance. He wants to get it over with, he's disturbed about the vast differences in opinion and treatment and he's overwhelmed. And he doesn't want to read about it, talk about it or think about it. He gets aggravated when I try to talk about it with him. He told me he's depending on me to deal with the information. And I'm a journalist, so that's what I do. I don't mind, because I love him. I want him to have the best. We're going to get a 2nd opinion (which he agreed to very, very reluctantly after I pushed and pushed) and when I suggested getting a third opinion he looked at me like I was nut and said, “When is this going to end?â€? I realize this reaction is completely NORMAL and that its very disrubring to listen to someone discuss how they're going to CUT YOUR HEAD OPEN. ICK!!!!! But I know it's ESSENTIAL that we ask these questions. I sugggested sending his films to LA to House and he said, No, I'm not going to LA. I told him we could do that, I would do that for him, I told him that it was POSSIBLE, even though we live in South Carolin and it would be a cross-coutntry trip. He said No. HELP!!!! I realize people have totally different reactions to this, that his reaction is to bury his head in the sand and my reaction is to seek information and try to learn. I told him we're not the only people doing this, dealing with this, but he hasn't bothered to visit this message board or any other message board or call the names I got from the AN Association. I just need to share on this