Author Topic: surgery scheduled for June 16  (Read 3299 times)

dave12

surgery scheduled for June 16
« on: June 06, 2014, 10:27:20 am »
Hello all -this is my first post although I have been lurking for a year or so.  I have surgery scheduled for June 16 for my 3cm+ accoustic neuroma with Drs. Wright and Monfared at Viriginia Hospital Center in Arlington, VA.  I would be grateful for any thoughts on the doctors or hospital.  I am scheduled to have retrosigmoid surgery since, according to the audiologist, I still have useful hearing in my AN ear.  I know the chances of saving my hearing are small but, being a hobbyist musician, I dont want to give up the chance and go for the translab approach which destroys the hearing. It has been my experience from consultations that neurosurgeons recommend retrosigmoid while ENT's recommend translab.  Has that been others' expreience as well?  I have been told by the ENTs that translab has a slightly better chance of not damaging the facial nerve but the neurosurgeons say that is not the case.  Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Dave

Hokiegal

Re: surgery scheduled for June 16
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 09:38:38 pm »
Hi Dave, sorry to have to welcome you to the "club", but glad you found this site.  My tumor was also 3cm, and I had retro sig two years ago.  I still had pretty good hearing pre-op -- only a 30% loss at that point. 

Sorry, I'm not familiar with your hospital or doctors.  It sounds like you have had multiple consultations, which is good.  Curious, though -- being in Northern Virginia, did you consult with Hopkins?  I was on their site last night looking for research on post-surgical care, and they cite some pretty impressive results with regard to hearing and facial nerve preservation.