Author Topic: New Yorkers! Choosing between Kondziolka, Pannullo and Greene - any input?  (Read 3870 times)

Jed Becker

Hi everyone and thank to everyone who makes this forum possible.

I'm choosing between three doctors here in NYC and would love to hear from anyone who's had radiosurgery with any of them. How was the experience? Were they easy to work with? Available post surgery? Did they over-promise?

The doctors are Dr. Pannullo @ Weill Cornell; Dr. Kondziolka @ NYU; and Dr. Greene @ Mt. Sinai.

Additionally, there's the same old question of fractionated vs. one-shot radiology. NYU only has the GammaKnife which does NOT do fractionated, yet I'm very concerned with preserving the hearing I still have (I'm a professional musician and audio engineer, so this kinda sux :(..) and I've had some doctors lead me to believe that fractionated is safer and a better bet at preserving hearing. Yet I've seen literature that says that there's not enough data yet to back up that claim. Any input?

Thanks in advance to any replies.

Jed

mesafinn

Hi Jed,

I can only weigh in on two of your questions regarding doctors and hearing preservation.  First, I do not know Drs. Pannullo or Greene.  I did have a consultation with Dr. Kondziolka, and he was my first choice.  He has an amazing track record, he was personable, had a great "bedside manner," he was responsive to all of my inquiries, and his reputation is quite solid.  I think he has a little bit of the god-complex, but his confidence was also reassuring.  The only reason I did not go with him was at the time of my decision, his practice had been impacted by Hurricane Sandy which made things more complicated--so I went to his former colleague Dr. Lunsford in Pittsburgh (who was a mentor to Dr. Kondziolka).  He is someone who has done some of the most GK procedures in the United States.