Author Topic: Still experiencing balance problems eight years out of surgery  (Read 5934 times)

MDemisay

• Forever Thankful for Supportive ANA Friends!
One learns to adapt to walking with a cane, after all this time!

Still I get frustrated when people walk faster than me! Makes me feel 84, when I am only 54!

Still, I fall off balance when I turn my head too swiftly, makes me think of Weebles (Weebles wobble but they don't fall down!

Have a nice weekend everybody!

Mike

Ps. It's my first time to the balance forum!
1974 - Dr. Michelson  Colombia Presbyterian removal of 3 Arterio Venous Malformations
2004- Dr. Sisti  NY Presbyterian subtotal removal of 3.1 cm AN,
2012 - June 11th Dr. Sisti Gamma Knife (easy-breasily done)"DEAD IRV" play taps!
Research, research, research then decide and trust in God's Hands!

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: Still experiencing balance problems eight years out of surgery
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 06:57:34 am »
Hi Mike

I have been walking with a cane for years (since my early 40's) due to non-AN related issues.  I have multiple canes.... the "old lady metal" cane..... my 1-inch solid wood "walking stick" (as me bloke would call it) that he decordated with small shields from the UK.  I tell everyone my cane is a "fashion statement."  I've learned over time that when my balance issues kick up, I thank goodness I have my cane for support so I don't fall and break a hip.  Many on this forum have met me at support groups, brunches, casual meets and at multiple ANA symposiums.  Do they look at my cane funny?  Nope.