Author Topic: hearing devices post surgery vs. post radiation  (Read 3898 times)

Twindy

hearing devices post surgery vs. post radiation
« on: February 09, 2012, 09:23:09 am »
I was told by doctor yesterday that hearing devices (I am new to this so I don't know the correct term) don't work as well after radiation vs. surgery.  Anyone know anything or have experience with this?

Tod

• My blog (work and life)
Re: hearing devices post surgery vs. post radiation
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 01:20:21 pm »
Not heard this, but I am not a doctor nor an expert. However, I have today finished FSR and had surgery two years ago this weekend. I have noticed no difference in the effectiveness of my Ponto Pro since beginning radiation.

I'm struggling to find a theory that would account for such a difference.

-Tod
Bob the tumor: 4.4cm x 3.9cm x 4.1 cm.
Trans-Lab and Retro-sigmoid at MCV on 2/12/2010.

Removed 90-95% in a 32 hour surgery. Two weeks in ICU.  SSD Left.

http://randomdatablog.com

BAHA implant 1/25/11.

28 Sessions of FSR @ MCV ended 2/9/12.

james e

• 72 years, 1.7cm, trans lab Mar 2010, BAHA 5
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 02:05:18 pm »
By hearing devices, I assume you mean a bone anchored hearing aid. The titanium post gets screwed into your skull right behind your AN ear, vibrates your skull (you cannot feel it) and your good ear hears what words/sounds the BAHA hears. I have tried to think of a way that radiation on the AN side could have any impact on your good side. The ability to control those waves of energy is so very precise that it would totally suprise me that it could have any impact on your ability to hear sound from a BAHA or via air transmission. I'm sure the energy does not soften the skull and reduce the ability of the BAHA to vibrate your skull. Beats me!