Author Topic: Post-op hearing, balance and return to work  (Read 4358 times)

trev0024

Post-op hearing, balance and return to work
« on: January 26, 2012, 06:10:55 pm »
I have a 2.0 cm acousitic neuroma. All indications point towards surgical removal. I am a physical therapist and my job requires balance, heavy lifting and hearing my patients in a large open gym that is very noisy with multple people talking.

1) What is it like to be deaf in one ear? Can I expect to work in a noisy environment?

2) Do the those hearing aides that send sound from deaf ear to good ear actually work?

3) Any hunters out there? Can you still safely hunt upland game with dogs and friends?

I appreciate any help with these questions.
New dx 2.0 x 1.9 cm AN

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Post-op hearing, balance and return to work
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 08:47:07 am »
Hi trev0024 .....

I saw on your other post about trying to make the decision of radiation vs surgery.  As you know, you are within the typical size range for either.  As you have probably read on this forum already, if you consult with a surgeon he/she is going to recommend surgery.  If you consult with a radiation oncologist, he/she is going to recommend radiation.

Almost hate to interject this here, but I had massive doses of radiation to my nasopharyngeal area as a teenager, following a tonsillectomy.  Fast forward 40+ years later and I show up with an AN.  However, let me hasten to say that the ionizing radiation they were using back in those days was HUGE compared with what the very targeted radiation they use today.  In fact, at the last ANA Symposium in June, 2011, the guest speakers all talked about even greatly reducing the amount of Gy used on ANs within the past 10 years.  Therefore, yes, there are not long term studies on it yet, but the data is strongly showing that this should not be a cause for concern.

Answers to your questions: