Author Topic: symptoms come and go?  (Read 9658 times)

Milenkas

symptoms come and go?
« on: November 19, 2011, 11:49:28 am »
Does anyone have any insight as to what makes symptoms come and go?  I am trying to figure out what I'm doing different when the symptoms come back very strong and I just can't put a pattern to it.  I went 4 weeks with really bad dizziness and "wonkeyness"...then it cleared up for about 4 days....just a dizzy spell once in awhile, up until yesterday.....now the dizziness and feeling like I'm in a glass box feeling is back.  Has anyone else experienced this and figured out what sets off the dizziness and normalcy?  thanks!  ps. I am in watch and wait status.  Diagnosed Sept 2011  5mm acoustic neuroma.... ??? ???
Diagnosed 8/2011, 5mm a/n.

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: symptoms come and go?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 02:54:41 pm »
Hi, Milenkas ~

I'm not a doctor so I cannot offer you a credible 'medical' opinion but my speculation for the variation in your symptoms (very common, by the way) is not associated with anything you do but the fact that although the tumor grows in microscopic amounts, being nestled near cranial nerves that affect balance, etc., as it grows it has an effect on those delicate nerves, causing the dizziness, etc.  This is why 'watch-and-wait' can sometimes be problematic for the patient that is experiencing AN symptoms (dizziness).  I can only offer you my hope that this clears up, soon.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

HeidiC

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 03:56:07 pm »
Milenkas,