Author Topic: Hearing Different Pitches  (Read 6696 times)

Pablo

Hearing Different Pitches
« on: June 26, 2006, 10:06:44 am »
Hi,
As crazy as it sounds, I was amazed yesterday noticing that I hear different pitches for the same sound depending which ear I'm using (My AN ear hearing loss is about 30dB) . i.e. Dial tone in my country is in A4 tone (440 Hz). When I hear the dial tone with my healthy ear, it sounds the way it should be, but if I hear it only with my AN ear, then I hear it in a semitone lower in pitch.
I was always under the impression that hearing loss is associated with perceived  loudness and if the hearing loss is pitch dependant, then I may hear the sound with different timbre characteristics but not at different pitch  ???.
Has anyone experienced the same thing and knows why? I'm a musician and this is not actually helping me at all  ;)
Thanks   
2.5 cm x 3.0 cm  right side
FSR  7/2006
Cabrini Medical Center, NYC

tony

Re: Hearing Different Pitches
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2006, 10:22:20 am »
Yes AN type hearing loss is not just absolute in terms of vol level
- descrimination one sound to another, distortion/clarity levels are
also affected - one reason why (only) simple tone audio tests are so unreliable
for this condition.
For example I now hear better (except, directionality) with one goodish ear
than I did 18mths ago with one goodish and one bad - the distortion of the one bad
masked the useful performance of the good.
I find AM speach almost impossible to understand - but the FM version is fine.
Finally on a technical point, all sound has its own pattern - with a harmonic version of itself
at a 10th/20th (?)  of the vol level of the orginal sound
I suspect your good ear can hear the additional harmonics - the bad one cant.
Best regards
Tony

teasely

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2006, 11:22:43 am »