Author Topic: Was "Watch and Wait"...now what?  (Read 2947 times)

brucea

Was "Watch and Wait"...now what?
« on: April 29, 2011, 12:55:15 pm »
I am completely new at this!  I normally try to go these things alone but am a little wigged out at this point.  I was "watch and wait" but the tumor has nearly double in size in the past 2 years so my Dr. fells we need to do something now. I was comfortable on on the W&W list. Now I have questions.
1) Is radiation the way to go
2) IF so, does it get worse before it gets better
3) I'm at UT Southwestern in Dallas ...is that the best in this area (I'm very comfortable with the dr)

« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 03:12:52 pm by Jim Scott »
1.7 x 1 x .7  facial schwannoma
Gamma Knife treatment - 7-12-11
Dallas, Texas -- UT Southwestern

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Was "Watch and Wait"...now what?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2011, 03:28:42 pm »
Hi, Brucea - and welcome.

I'm sorry you have to deal with an acoustic neuroma but glad that you decided not to go it alone - and found the ANA website discussion forums.

It would be helpful if we knew the size of your AN.  Radiation is not usually feasible on tumors larger than 3 cm (due to swelling issues).  However, if you're a candidate for radiation, there are 3 options; GammaKnife, Cyberknife and FSR.  Lots of information on these treatments is available on this website and others on the internet.  As you know, radiation is non-invasive (no cutting) and has a quicker recovery time-frame, although it still carries some inherent risks.  Your doctor will likely make a recommendation on treatment but, of course, the final decision is yours, alone.   We'll try to help and I can guarantee that you'll have the support of the folks on these forums, whatever your treatment decision.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good.