Author Topic: Hello - its good to be back  (Read 3314 times)

tony

Hello - its good to be back
« on: May 06, 2006, 04:38:36 am »
Hello, its Tony returning from the far side
I am not really a newbie - I used to post 12mths ago....
five (or six) surgeries, a stint with a wheelchair, and one gamma knife
rather got in the way these last 12 mths
Some of the "Golden Oldies" may remember me
- the hospital does....
Best Regards
Tony

Raydean

Re: Hello - its good to be back
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2006, 02:47:06 pm »
Welcome back Tony,  It's great to have you back.  If we were anywhere near you we'd give you a big hug!!!!!!!   I'm sorry that things have been so difficult for you.  You're and amazing person to endure so much.  If you feel up to it, would you mind sharing more regarding the events of the past year.

Hig hugs
Raydean and Chet
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 08:07:25 pm by Raydean »
Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

tony

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 02:13:47 am »
I am happy to go through it but..
- I really dont want to frighten those who are awaiting surgery
mine is an extreme case - not really true of most outcomes (1% perhaps ?)
what do you suggest we do ?
best regards
tony

Raydean

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2006, 04:53:58 am »
Tony,

You're right, when you're in that small percentile  of outcomes.  (1 to 2 %) and when what can go wrong, does go wrong it's a difficult decision to make.  On one hand there's much that can be learned from  the experience.  But it could also cause  additional fear in those awaiting treatment.  Both of us has felt the responsibility.

It's a big responsibility.  By sharing the whole story, there's a chance that someone might delay treatment, or chose to do nothing at all.  By sharing, we could be helping  someone else that's having a difficult time know that they aren't alone, that others have found a way thur.