Author Topic: hearing my voice inside my head  (Read 6965 times)

LauraU

hearing my voice inside my head
« on: January 27, 2010, 09:11:54 pm »
This is my first posting on this site. I had translab 4 weeks ago, and am recovering pretty well in general. This biggest complaint I have right now is that everytime I use my voice I hear it inside my head on the AN side really loud so that I can hardly hear it on the outside with my good ear. Has anyone else had this? I'm hoping it goes away soon, as I'm a teacher, which means I talk a lot for my job, and I have to go back to work in 2 more weeks!

Kaybo

Re: hearing my voice inside my head
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 09:22:28 pm »
Hi Laura~
WELCOME!  I had surgery 14 years ago (I was 25) & I don't really remember that.  I was a teacher too - I taught 1st grade at the time of my surgery.  I went on to have 3 girlies so I am a stay-at-home mom now - who NEVER stays home!  LOL!!  Just wanted to welcome you here - make yourself comfy and ask anything you want!  I'm sure someone will come along soon that can help you out!

K   ;D
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97
Gold Weight x 5
SSD
Facial Paralysis-R(no movement or feelings in face,mouth,eye)
T3-3/08
Great life!

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 07:35:31 am »
Laura -

I'm not a teacher and I never had this issue post op, but like Kay I wanted to say welcome to the Forum.

I did become SSD (single-sided deaf) as a result of my surgery and I just had a total lack of sound in my left "AN" ear. 

Are you SSD as a result of your surgery?  I'm wondering if perhaps you aren't and that is why you are having this issue.

Then again, whether you are SSD or not may have absolutely nothing to do with this issue.

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)