Author Topic: Yet another new one  (Read 15384 times)

volleymom

• had pressure on my Pons
Yet another new one
« on: November 10, 2009, 01:55:38 pm »
Hello out there!
2 weeks from today I will be done with retrosigmoid surgery and recovering at Oregon Health Sciences University.  Time sure does speed up once you only have 1 month to go.  I am feeling excited to get "this" over and done with.  I have spent the last 2.5 months reading the posts on this forum and it has helped me to know what to expect.  I am a nurse who works nightshifts, but I have never had surgery.
I had a mild facial numbness for about 20 months.  It was starting to get worse this past summer, one side of my tongue was getting numb too, and I felt like I was drooling. The MRI with contrast showed a 9 X 16 mm acoustic neuroma putting pressure on my pons and trigeminal nerve.  Once I was given the diagnosis, I realized that I had been ignoring as occasional stabbing pain in my ear.  I also had been feeling pressure in my ear. My left eye has been a little dry for several years. My hearing was fine when tested in August.  My balance is still good, but if I try vestibular exercises, I am tippy.
My surgeon came highly recommended by 3 family friends and I left the consultation appointment feeling happy that I didn't have to get it done immediately.

Kathy
9mm X 16mm diagonsed in August 2009.  Retrosigmoid Nov, 2009 at OHSU in Portland, OR.
post-op had some facial nerve weakness, nearly resolved. Mild tinnitus. Left sided deafness.

epc1970

Re: Yet another new one
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2009, 02:06:31 pm »
Hi Kathy
I had my surgery at OHSU also. Is your surgeon Dr Delashaw? He was my surgeon and if he is your surgeon I can tell you that you are in good hands. Regardless, OHSU treated me so wonderfully post op.The nursing staff was phenominal-they will take good care of you.  I wish you the best of luck with your surgery and recovery Kathy!
Erin

lawmama

• I'm a Postie Now!!!
    • My AN Blog: