Author Topic: Wait and watch  (Read 2110 times)

brianthomas

Wait and watch
« on: August 12, 2009, 05:59:18 pm »
Hello;
      I am new to hear my AN is 4mm I was wondering has anyone had one that small removed? And would it be better to have it removed before it got bigger? Thanks for the help.

Brian

Darlene

Re: Wait and watch
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2009, 06:53:50 pm »
Hi Brian

Sorry for your diagnosis, but welcome to the forum.

I have been reading the forum for months and people with your size AN are doing all three options watch and wait, radiosurgery and surgery.  It all depends on their own particular situation; symptoms, personal preference(as in I have to get this out of my head or I want to treat it before it gets any worse)  and knowledge and comfort of the ramifications of their choices.   Others have had small AN's  successfully removed surgically so rest assured it is possible.  I know that ANOTHER NYC NEWBIE has surgery scheduled for next month and she has a 5mm AN.   Please know that these tumors are benign and you have time to make a decision.  There are many others that I consider " the experts" who will be able to give you more information I am sure they will be along soon.  Good Luck!

Take care,
Darlene 
DX: 12/6/08
1.4cm intracanicular -Middle Fossa Surgery on 7/1/09 @ NYU. Hearing preserved and speech discrimination has actually gotten better!!   Temporary Facial Paralysis- showing improvement.  1yr post-op hearing test- same 96% speech recognition- yeah!

brianthomas

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 07:54:53 pm »
Thank you Darlene I appreciate it

Keeping Up

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 08:11:29 pm »
Hi Brianthomas

I too have a small tumor (a bit bigger than yours).  And do see others getting treated with small tumors.

For me, I have chosen to wait it out and see what happens, understanding the risks of waiting.  It is right for me.

You will find the right path for you.