Author Topic: Middle Fossa Update  (Read 1893 times)

Karissa

Middle Fossa Update
« on: January 21, 2006, 10:46:27 am »
I just wanted to give you all an update on myself! As some of you know, I had my Acoustic Neuroma removed just over 1 year ago on December 17, 2004 at the House Ear Clinic in Los Angeles by Dr. Rick Friedman and Dr. Wm Hitselberger. My tumor was 4-5mm and my surgery was the middle fossa.

I recently had my one year follow up hearing test and MRI and the news is great! My hearing test showed that I have lost about 10 decibels in the mid to high tones, but my hearing was totally normal before surgery, that that just puts me in the “mild hearing lossâ€? category. I can hardly even notice it! And for the even better news….Dr. Friedman told me that my MRI turned out “crystal clearâ€? and that I would need to repeat my hearing test in one year and repeat the MRI in 4 years!

I am a nursing student, I work part time, I work out 3-4 days a week, I dance, and I was able to water ski and wake board this summer….I am telling you all this so that you know people can still live normal lives after having the surgery!!  Good luck to all of you in your journeys!

If anyone has any questions for me I would be happy to answer them for you. karissashields@cox.net

Karissa Shields

cookiesecond

Re: Middle Fossa Update
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 11:14:20 am »
Karissa,
Thank you so much for sharing your good news.We NEED to hear good reports!!!
Take care and keep in touch,
Lynn

Larry

• Scallywags Rule
    • Chronologer of the PBW
Re: Middle Fossa Update
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2006, 03:59:46 pm »
Karissa,