Author Topic: Hi ho, hi ho, it's back to work I go!  (Read 2497 times)

oHIo

Hi ho, hi ho, it's back to work I go!
« on: May 29, 2008, 05:59:58 am »
Actually I returned to work this week, nine weeks post op after translab surgery with multiple complications.  I worked my 10 hour shifts (I'm a nurse, so no sitting for me) and did quite well along with my hour commute each way to and from work.  Out of this whole experience, I think driving again (which I just started last week) was the scariest.  With my eye sewn mostly shut and newly deaf, I didn't know how it would go.  It was just like riding a bike (okay, pre-AN  ;) ).

My facial nerve functioning has improved from a 6/6 the day after surgery to a 4/6.  I will start facial nerve rehab when my therapist returns from vacation.

I plan to get a Baha this fall.  SSD is challenging some days and I'm tired of saying, "what"? 

No one believes that I had brain surgery with so many complications and look (and feel) this good.  They just don't know how tough us ANers are  ;)

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Hi ho, hi ho, it's back to work I go!
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2008, 07:12:15 am »
oHIo -

It's great to hear from you.  Congratulations on the back to work milestone!

It sounds like you have had a few challenges, but you are definitely prevailing.  Good for you  :)

Your facial nerve function sounds like it's moving in the right direction and the therapist will help facilitate that even further.

I hated being SSD deaf too, so I can understand your plans for a BAHA.  If you have questions, just shout (I don't get my processor until next week LOL)

Jan

Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

HeadCase2

• Carpe Grog