Author Topic: music teachers and hearing loss  (Read 3171 times)

klm

music teachers and hearing loss
« on: March 24, 2008, 09:06:16 am »
How is it different to hear from only one ear?  I am a university piano professor.  Could I still be effective?

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: music teachers and hearing loss
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2008, 09:23:59 am »
Hi klm and welcome. Well, we do have our resident rock n' roller on this site, "Crazykat" (Paul) who plays in a band... I know he's been peeking in so I'm hoping he can share his SSD (single-sided deafness) situation during his music playing and how he handles it.

Again, welcome.
Phyl
"Gentlemen, I wash my hands of this weirdness", Capt Jack Sparrow - Davy Jones Locker, "Pirates of the Carribbean - At World's End"

satman

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2008, 09:50:17 am »
Hi klm, I play guitar and drums and I also work with audio/video and the SSD "single sided deafness" has not affected my ability
when it comes to hearing,the only issue I have is when someone calls out my name from across the room, I have to
figure out what direction it"s coming from,but it's not that difficult to get used to,if you have to listen to playback recordings you can always get a mono plug for a headset and get a full mix in one ear,we learn to addapt.
kicked my little 8cm buddy to the curb-c ya !

Debbi

• Originator of the Magic Scarf
    • Debbi's AN Blog
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2008, 09:58:52 am »
Although I am not yet in the SSD club (will be as of the afternoon of April 16), my dad has been SSD for 30+ years (not related to AN, just lucky.)   He would be the first to tell you that he loves music (and is a former musician) and that he still gets tremendous enjoyment from listening to music.  He is able to detect the same subtle notes as he always did.  Hey, Dad, if you're lurking out there, feel free to chime in!

Deb (Chillin' in NJ)
Debbi - diagnosed March 4, 2008