Author Topic: Retro sigmoid scheduled for June 10 at keck hospital  (Read 3329 times)

Mollyo

Retro sigmoid scheduled for June 10 at keck hospital
« on: May 29, 2014, 11:43:12 pm »
This is my first time posting although I seem to visit this site daily. Hearing others experiences has really helped me. I discovered my AN by accident as I had an inner ear infection that prompted my Dr. To send me for an MRI.I am 34 years old. My An is on my left side 1.9cm. The only symptom that I am experiencing is a very subtle vertigo sensation occasionally. I have no hearing loss. I have decided to go with surgery and am scheduled for June 10th at Keck hospital USC. Dr Friedman/Gionatta. They are doing the retro sigmoid approach to remove my tumor. I am trying to keep a positive outlook but as the date approaches  I find myself getting very nervous. I would love to hear some post op stories or what to expect the first several days after surgery and how did other an patients feel after this type of surgery.also how long of a recovery and when could they return to work. Any advice would be great! Thanks!
1.9 cm left side
Surgery scheduled at USC dr Friedman/gionatta june 10
Retro sigmoid

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Retro sigmoid scheduled for June 10 at keck hospital
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 07:28:42 am »
Hi, Mollyo ~

Experiencing some trepidation as your surgery date approaches is about as normal as could be.  I felt the same way.

Your doctors/facility carry excellent reputations within the AN patient community so that should be of some assurance.