Author Topic: gamma knife for me  (Read 6064 times)

pb

gamma knife for me
« on: January 05, 2010, 06:55:13 pm »
The date is set. Next Wednesday is my day for gamma knife. Learned maybe too much today reading of others experiences, but think it's the best choice for me.  Tumor is 1.9 by 1.7 on the left side. Hearing loss and balance issues in the dark are what finally caught the ENT's attention. 

I thought I was well prepared for gamma but reading on the site makes me think I didn't ask every question there was to ask. Sure had plenty of pages of notes!

I was given a 50-70% chance of saving hearing in left ear. How soon will I know if it was saved? I know with possible swelling later it can change hearing, but I assume if the nerve is damaged hearing loss would be immediate. Am I correct?  I am glad to read about the warning of sudden hearing loss and getting meds.

How long were most of you out of work if you had gamma? I have planned 4 days off work. Reasonable?? I'm a teacher and don't want to go back looking like Frankenstein. My grandson is more concerned that I will turn into "the Hulk." Gamma rays ....get it? Not sure I'm into green. Too hard on the clothing too.  He was pretty funny - guess that's a 12 year olds sense of humor.

I haven't named the "beast" but think of this whole ordeal as writing a book. Sounds like it could be the size of a Harry Potter book too.

Thanks for letting me ramble on. Friends and family have been so wonderful and supportive but y'all know what it's like. :) The roller coaster continues.

pb

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: gamma knife for me
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 08:59:54 pm »
Paula -

one of the drawbacks of reading Forum posts is that it can make you question just how well prepared you are for treatment.   Reading posts can also totally freak you out at times - which is why some docs tell their patients not to come here.