Author Topic: Does hearing ever return?  (Read 6389 times)

chance1212

Does hearing ever return?
« on: January 12, 2012, 07:22:42 pm »
I am understand that once the hearing is gone--pretty sure mine is at least 95-100% gone--it is gone for good right? Some comments I've read got me thinking that maybe there's a chance of it coming back after surgery?
6mm 08/11;   lost hearing by 10/11 & tinnitus;  growth shown 02/12;  more growth-now 1.2 cm 08/12;  Translab @ Vanderbilt Haynes/Thompson  11/13/12
J. Hildebrandt

TJ

• 1.2 cm AN right side, CK November 2010
Re: Does hearing ever return?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 12:33:13 pm »
I am not a doctor but was told my my doctor that once hearing is gone, it does not return.  But there are many devices that help us hear better.  There are many different types of devices if you are SSD also.

TJ

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 01:22:34 pm »
Bob ~

To the best of my knowledge, when the acoustic nerve has been damaged enough to cease functioning, it rarely 'comes back'.  My neurosurgeon held out a small hope that because all of my other AN symptoms disappeared after my debulking surgery, that some hearing might return.  He checked my hearing in the affected ear every day in the hospital (by rubbing his fingers together next to my 'AN ear' and asking:"can you hear that?").  He continued to do the same Ad hoc test at every follow-up visit.  Alas, I never regained any hearing in my AN (left) ear.

Although anything is possible, I would advise against putting a too much hope in your unilateral hearing returning after AN surgery. 

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

chloes mema

• Life is a special occasion.