Author Topic: Has anybody been to John Hopkins?  (Read 3721 times)

Tisha

Has anybody been to John Hopkins?
« on: October 25, 2008, 12:09:48 pm »
Hi, I'm a newbie and posted on the AN issues board this week.  Everybody who answered me was wonderful, reassuring and quite helpful.  I spoke with my Neurotologist yesterday and asked the size of my tumor.  He said it's irregular-shaped, sort of like a ice cream cone.   The length is 1.7cm, just the round part is 1.0 cm.  It is not touching any part of the brainstem yet.  He wants to watch and wait because I still have hearing in that ear (although distorted), and I have undiagnosed hearing loss in my "hearing aid ear". 

I would like a second opinion.  My DH found some statistics yesterday, I don' know how to link.  However, the website is www.dinagoldin.com/anarchive/spread.htm

From looking at these statistics for radiosurgery, John Hopkins looks like a leader, 2nd is Staten Island Univ. Hospital.  Of course I don't know who put these together, or if they are accurate.

I guess I was wondering  if anyone has been to John Hopkins.  I'm very concerned about my facial nerve being saved.  Thanks.  Tisha

1.7 x 1.0 x .9 cm (diagnosed Oct 2008)
1.8 x 1.2 x 1.1 cm  (July 2010-swelling)
1.5 x .9 x .9 cm  (Mar 2013 - 5 yr MRI)
Cyberknife at Stanford, week of 1/12/09 -  Drs. Chang and Soltys

Kaybo

Re: Has anybody been to John Hopkins?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2008, 01:36:41 pm »
Tisha~
I don't know about JH & AN surgeries but we went there in March for my T3 reconstructive surgery and were VERY impressed!  We had an INCREDIBLE surgeon - he is a plastics guy but I could call him and see what he says about AN people.  He is just that type of a guy (plus I need to call anyway b/c his wifey was having their 1st child this month).  Let me know if you want me to inquire for you...

K
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97