Author Topic: Diagnosed Monday - any help appreciated  (Read 3279 times)

rcaldw

Diagnosed Monday - any help appreciated
« on: October 19, 2005, 02:16:19 pm »
Hi,

Was diagnosed on Monday after an MRI the previous Friday.  Mine was measured at 1.4cm x 2 x1.5 cm  My ENT told me to take my time in getting information, recommended a Dr. to me in Houston (Joseph Chang, anyone heard of him?), and said that his "opinion" was Gamma knife.  Mine is on the left side.

At this point I am getting an appointment with a neurosurgeon, and then trying to get in to see Dr. Chang.

I've read enough already to know that it is worse having an AN than I thought.  When you hear benign, you think, "no big deal, take it out", but if I am reading correctly, it almost certainly means I will have to deal with SOME change after either surgery or gamma treatment.

Anyone have any early advice for me?  Does anyone, given the size of mine, have any suggestions.

Let me give you one hint.

I am a pastor, and the one thing I would really like to avoid is the facial nerve problems.  Is one technique less likely to affect it than others?

Thank you in advance.

Desilu

Re: Diagnosed Monday - any help appreciated
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2005, 04:14:24 pm »
HI, Welcome to the AN forum. My personal suggestion would be to get as much information as possible, talk to different doctors and then consult with House Ear Clinic in Los Angeles for a final opinion. They will do this free of charge if you send them your films. You have to be comfortable with your doctors and your decision whether it is surgery or radiation. Please do not hurry your decision. Give it a lot of thought and then pray about it. There is life after AN! Best wishes on which ever treatment you choose. Ann

HEC July 26, 2005
Mid fossa 5mmx8mm Left AN
Dr. Brackmann & Dr Hitselberger
HEI July 26, 2005
5mm X 8mm Left AN
Middle Fossa
Dr. Brackmann & Dr. Hitselberger

jamie

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2005, 04:34:27 pm »