Author Topic: Vision change  (Read 5153 times)

formula30

Vision change
« on: December 29, 2010, 02:05:02 pm »
I wear progressive lenses.........and got a new prescription at the end of May..........they found the tumor on June 16th..........I had gamma knife on September 21, 2010.  My vision seems to not be quite right...........when I lay down I have to close one eyes if watching television or trying to read or I can't see correctly (sort of like double vision but not exactly) if that makes sense.  I noticed last night while on the computer..........I had to close one eye to see correctly and I was sitting up........this is a first for me, and very annoying I will be seeing the neurosurgeon on January 12th......I will mention it to him, just wondering if anyone else seems to be having this issue.

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Vision change
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2010, 09:06:48 pm »
Formula -

I'm not a doctor, but I'm guessing this vision problem is related to your GK.

When my neurotologist and I discussed GK he told me that side-effects might present themselves as long as 12-18 months after the procedure.

I ended up with double vision for 2 - 3 days post op so I'd imagine that this same type of problem is possible with radiation treatment as well as surgery.

My thought is that this issue will pass in time, but definitely mention it to your doc when you see him in January. 

Please keep us posted.

Best,

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

TJ

• 1.2 cm AN right side, CK November 2010
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 09:48:07 pm »